Adventures in Everyday


Cannibals, Force-Fields, and Natural Selection
March 13, 2008, 12:20 pm
Filed under: internet, personal, science

tabs

I am a Black Hole for Information

I am subscribed to many more electronic newsletters and rss feeds than is good for me. I get email updates from:

On top of that, I have rss feeds from:

So when any one of these web services delivers a thought provoking item, I tend to bookmark or make a tab for it so that I can blog about it later. To the right you will see the tabs that are open in my browser at this very moment.

This is not a good system.

I so rarely get around to writing anything down! Perhaps it’s because every time I start writing something I end up doing research, listing sources and using APA format; or perhaps it’s because at any given time I have at least 20 things that I want to blog about.

Starting now

This has to stop. Starting with this post, I’m going to simply list and summarize my most favorite interesting articles, videos and presentations.

The following YouTube video is from the BBC’s Visions of the Future series starring Michio Kaku (who I’ve blogged about before). Watch them all!

From the YouTube Description:

In this new three-part series, leading theoretical physicist and futurist Dr Michio Kaku explores the cutting edge science of today, tomorrow, and beyond. He argues that humankind is at a turning point in history. In this century, we are going to make the historic transition from the ‘Age of Discovery’ to the ‘Age of Mastery’, a period in which we will move from being passive observers of nature to its active choreographers. This will give us not only unparalleled possibilities but also great responsibilities.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

…interested in re-designing my brain?? like the car…still wouldn’t trust it enough to sleep…but the future scares me for you guys!!! I am sorry that you can’t have the simpler ways, the ones you remember and rememberd and I believed, loved. can you back to your roots if you really wanted? well, it’s interested but I am glad of how things are in the world right now…not too much of what is coming. I guess that may make me a “stuck in the rut Grandma/mom But I do want to try at least to continue to learn and me amazed….hope so…

Comment by Diane Boehr




Leave a Reply

